Afghanistan

Book Club tonight – this is the very compelling story of this young women’s 2 year term in Afghanistan; working for the United Nations as a Human Rights Lawyer. (Previous to that she had worked in Gaza).

When asked why she wrote this book, her reply

“firstly I felt an obligation to my colleagues to write a book that would help people to understand what it was really like to work and live in Afghanistan, to show people what sort of human rights violations are still happening, about the fear that people live with on a daily basis, about the people that put their lives at risk. I wanted people to understand the dichotomy between military and humanitarian work and the need to keep that work separate, and also to understand the pressure that human rights workers are under and the toll that this can take on their health and personal lives. Secondly, I wanted to tell the story of my own struggle with depression and how I dealt with it, in a hope that other people in a similar situation, no matter where they live or what their line of work, may be able to gain benefit from my story.”

Fabulous spring day, Doug mowed the lawns; I cut the edges - looks grand!

Tickets for Rockin Rod booked!!

Rainie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.