On a Walk Around the City

We had a beautiful day here in Christchurch and I took a walk around the city to catch up on happenings. It turned out to be a very interesting day and I talked to many people.. sometimes I don't find anyone to talk too.

Because I found and saw many different things I thought another collage would be good for today.

Top Left: I came across this project I hadn't seen before with people working away on it. There was a big poster with the words.. Help Create Tranquil Gardens. On looking it up when I got home I found out more about it: Healthy Christchurch is leading this innovative collaboration creating six gardens of beauty and peace to fill in some of the gray demolition sites across Christchurch.

Six sites are going ahead this spring 2014. CERA have confirmed the use of the ‘Orange Tree’ site on the corners of Manchester Street and Cambridge Terrace. The designs are for Pacifica (Maori and Pacific Peoples) and Greater South East Asia.

Middle Top: Is in New Regent Street and I have blipped before about the work by Jeremy Sauzier on the Shadow-Catchers. I had stopped for a coffee at my favorite place and was told about the new shop that had just opened with Photographic Exhibitions. So had a look in there and a chat, then had my coffee. That was when I noticed a woman putting down this bag on the chair. Thought it made a interesting shot with the art work and the words in red: Eat, Sleep, Read.

Top Right: I got talking to a woman not far from where I live who was busy in her wonderful garden .. I had been taking photos of her Magnolia tree and Lilies and I hadn't noticed her there. Her and her husband had come from the Netherlands and had lived here 60 years. The photo bottom left is one shot I took of their beautiful Magnolia tree that was just past its best and the petals where falling like snow in the wind.

Bottom Middle: is the Terrace development which had been put on paused for some time as there were some money issues.. it looked like work may have started on it again. Also they are putting down Tram tracks on this part of the street. I also notice that the Bridge of Remembrance which had scaffolding around it for earthquakes repair work, has come down.

Bottom Right:
was a interesting talk. As I was passing by these man having lunch they said, would I like to take a photo of this.. they must have seen me talking photos along the street. When I looked closely as I had never seen it there before, was a plaque in remembrance of the Woman who have worked and lost their lives on the streets of Christchurch. This was on Manchester Street which is well known area for sex workers. Over the years there have been a few murdered.

The men were very chatty and wanted to know all about why I was talking photos and they seemed interested and we had a long chat. They also wanted me to take their photo.. well one guy did and the others went along with it. So I aksed where they were working and was told.. "We are the people who are not liked here in Christchurch as we are ones doing the infrastructure repairs".

So in all a very interesting walk today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.