Butterfingers

By Lilyrex

25......

Continued.......


With her unerring instinct for phoning at the most inconvenient time, Dora called Marta just as she was painting her nails. (There was no point in ignoring her - she somehow managed to make the phone's ringtone increase in volume each time she rang....)

'You're going out!' announced Dora, by way of a hello.

'Thank you Miss Marple, I am, so I can't talk for long.' said Marta, wondering whether her mother had a webcam trained on her at all times.

'On a Thursday? With that Jamie I suppose.'

'No mother, with some people I've met on Blip. I'm having a Blipmeet.'

'With strangers?' (Dora said 'strangers' in much the same way as Lady Bracknell said 'handbag'.)

'Not really. I've met them online, and before you say it, I doubt that any of them will be axe-murderers.'

Dora tutted. 'Well you'd better give me their names, just in case.'

'Mother, I'm over twelve now. Anyway, I don't know all their real names, only their Blip names. It'll be fine. We're meeting at the Scottish Malt Whisky Society, and as far as I'm aware, they don't allow kidnappings on the premises.'

'Oh I see,' Dora's voice oozed disapproval, 'so not only do they operate under assumed names, they're drinkers!'

'Operate under...? They're photographers, not members of a drug cartel. Anyway, I can hear you glugging something....what are you having?

'Tea!' said Dora indignantly. 'Now call me when you get home, so that I won't lie awake worrying myself to death.'

She hung up the phone and picked up her drink, rattling the ice cubes against the cut glass.

Well I am having tea, she thought, taking an irritated sip....G and T.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.