a town called E.

By Eej

Flyin'

"The only thing I want for V-day", I said, "is a trip to South Haven."

So we went.
South Haven is a beach town on Lake Michigan about half an hour from here. It's horribly busy from May till November and very quiet in between. Which is when we go :)

I lived close to the sea all my life, and while the lake is certainly no North Sea, it has the same effect on me. And they have gulls! And a pier! And tides!

It was, again, icy cold and the waves that were thrown over the lighthouse froze as they came down. Where normally the beach would be were now wavy dunes of snow and ice. Because of the motion, pieces of ice have been eroded into crystal-like shapes and frozen together with more ice.
My English is not sufficient to explain how it looked, but it made me feel like we were exploring an alien planet. tWas all kinds of awesome.
As we walked up to the pier the sun came out from behind the clouds which made everything look even more surreal.

Fortunately, gulls will always be gulls. Fighting for food, making deafening noises and having me think I'll be covered in bird poop before leaving.
I love this shot because other then the tiniest bit of crop (there was a birdless wing in the corner) it did not need anything.


Many to choose from today, so the Blip-rejects will be on Flickr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.