Mamhead King of the Mountains Climb

First thank you all for your comments, stars and hearts to put yesterday's sunset boats up into page 1 of the Spotlights, where it is at the moment. I'm so glad you liked it.

As I suggested yesterday, we have a cycling blip from the Tour of Britain Stage 5, Exmouth to Exeter. It doesn't sound far, they're only about 10 miles apart, but the tour took the long way, over Dartmoor and Tavistock before heading back through Crediton. Marian was going in to Exeter so she dropped me off at Mamhead where one of the stiffest climbs of the day took place. It's a great place and the road snakes up through woodland with a beautiful view down the valley side. I perched myself on the opposite side up a bank and straddled a tree stump for safety. I had a good view as they came round the corner but I don't know why Wiggo had to position himself on (his) left hand side of the peleton where a few leaves obscured the view. I've put a well cropped pic in the overspill page.

This is Andreas Stauff heading the leading pack up the hill. Behind him is Jerome Pineau. An enjoyable morning. If you've experienced it you'll know that you wait for hours and then it's all over in minutes. It was great to meet up with Roger, Christine and Matt for company and for a lift home afterwards, many thanks.

Do have a look at lumpysimon's shot from Haytor and do follow his link.

Have a good evening.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.