Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Another Gloomy Summer's Day

The understandable joy of Northern blippers at finding signs of spring has made me take stock of our summer. There are just two weeks left, but it seems to me that it hasn't even started yet. When I consider a normal summer I realise just how different this one has been.

I have not worn my hot weather clothing. My between-seasons gear is having a straight run. The same goes for my bed. The summer-weight duvet is all together too thin.

The cat has foregone her usual summer elegance for a thicker coat.

The big fan, that friend of summers past, is still in storage.

The garden seat remains in its winter position instead of being moved to the shade of trees. The big sun umbrella has not been used.

I haven't seen a scarlet runner bean (my #1 favourite vegetable) or picked a red tomato.

The only plus I can think of is that although animals graze within a few metres of the porch I haven't needed to put up the fly screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.