philmorris

By philmorris

Bagot's Castle

Baginton lies just a few miles south of where I was born. Yet not once until today had I set eyes on its castle. I knew it existed albeit somewhat dilapidated, and I knew it was not far from the village church. But no signs had pointed the visitor to its whereabouts. I'd been along this way and (I know now wrongly) opined that maybe the medieval rubbly stuff I had spotted in the graveyard might be all there was left of it.

Then a few days ago, by a series of clicks I can no loner recall, I happened on a website about Bagot's Castle. In this way I learned there was to be a couple of open days, starting today at 12 noon.

I arrived at around 1:20 to be invited to sign a visitor's log. I was first to enter my name. The lady at the desk informed me how she had become concerned that nobody would visit at all, and personally introduced me to a series of archaeological finds placed in cabinets in the timber hut-cum-educational visitors' centre.

The castle is all but vanished. Indeed, what is on show would seem to be the foundations of a tower keep of modest proportions, built by Sir William Bagot, a close advisor to Richard II, in around 1397.

In addition to the castle owner's website, more information may be had here about the castle, and here about William Bagot.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.