PeterMay

By PeterMay

Ninety-Two

This is Bettie Jensen, our former neighbor from France. She and husband John, who have been married 71 years, live in Beverly Hills, but for many years spent their summers in SW France, which is where we met them nearly 30 years ago and became firm friends. Today was Bettie's 92nd birthday, and by some fluke of fate we were in Los Angeles and able to join the family for a celebration meal at the LA Country Club.

Earlier we had flown down to LAX from Sacramento. A short piece I was to do for NPR (National Public Radio) was abandoned because the editor felt that what I had written was too pro Scottish independence. I prefer to think of it as censorship. No one, however, is going to gag me on live coast to coast radio tomorrow morning where they want me to discuss the subject.

The recording of my guest appearance on Craig Ferguson's Late, Late Show went ahead as planned, a zany, very Scottish five minutes or so of banter, which will be screened tomorrow night (Friday) on CBS.

Tomorrow morning it's off to Seattle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.