Hey ho, let's go!

Today I write in praise of friendship.

I count myself lucky to have some stalwart friends and Carol, here, is a jewel of a buddy.

We worked together back in the '90s but were in entirely different teams and hardly had anything to do with each other (for structural reasons rather than personal ones, I hasten to add!) until the fateful day that we discovered a mutual, if improbable, interest in Bob Wills and his Texas Playboys! This led to further discoveries about shared tastes not only in an eclectic range of music but in literature, politics and life in general. A firm friendship was formed and Carol has remained a staunch source of support ever since.

We meet up every few weeks for something to eat and a chance to swap books, music and tales about our lives. I've been through some very low patches and got myself into some scrapes during the time I've known her and she's always provided wise counsel and non-judgemental advice during the difficult times as well as sharing my happiness during the good times. I only hope that I've been as good a friend to her!

We still share a love of music and are probably both just as likely to be found listening to the late, lamented, Ramones as to Bob Wills, The King of Western Swing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.