My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Waiting......

.......for the voluntary driver who is taking me to the Pain Management Clinic in Boston this lunchtime. Am not trusting myself to drive far at the moment - better safe than sorry.

This lovely old house - called Blackbird Cottage - is in the High Street just opposite the end of my road. I noticed the rather unusual cowls it has on its chimney pots which I hadn't really spotted before. I also noticed it had a For Sale notice outside - it's the sort of place that, if I was looking for somewhere to buy, I should love.

The outcome of the visit to the Clinic didn't really produce much of a result - the pain patches I have been wearing for the last month haven't really helped much. As the doctor I saw couldn't really think of anything else, I am now down for sessions of acupuncture. I have had it before - many years ago - and found it quite good so am happy to try it again.

The Clinic I went to is really a private one and the way patients are treated is very noticeably different and it is a pleasure to go there. They could not be more courteous, charming or helpful.

My voluntary driver was a very pleasant woman and although I generally prefer men drivers (sexist!!!) I was very comfortable with her and we were not lost for conversation.

Her Husband is quite a lot older than she is so they are moving into a bungalow in the near future - at the moment they have a large 4 bedroom house with a very large garden so, looking to the future, have decided to downsize now rather than wait until things get too much to cope with. Very sensible, I think.

The weather was nice for the drive so the whole thing was quite enjoyable in its way!

Arriving home, a man in a car rolled up to take away the garden gate - it is an attractive gate and as old as the cottage - 127 years old - but was showing signs of old age and a bit weak in the joints - (like me!) - but as it is included as part of the cottages' Grade 11 listing - can only be replaced with an identical one - am very pleased about that though the old one is slid oak, I rather doubt the replacement one will be!

I have been gently pestering the Management Company about it for over two years now but they said replacing gates was outside their brief - but as I pointed out, the gate was shown on the Architects original drawings and therefore should be included in the Grade 11 listing as was the cottage. Nice to see that they have at last agreed! It does pay to be persistent!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.