The White Rose

The title of one of my favourite Cornish folk songs which I last heard performed by the Cadgwith Singers on the 8th May this year at The Blue Anchor Public House, Helston…..

The White Rose

The first time I met you, my darling
Your face was as fair as the rose,
But now your dear face has grown paler
As pale as the lily white rose.

Chorus

I love the White Rose in its splendour
I love the White Rose in its bloom
I love the White Rose so fair as she grows.
It’s the rose that reminds me of you.
You're fair as the spring, oh my darling
Your face shines so bright, so divine
The fairest of blooms in my garden
Oh lily white rose, you are mine

Chorus

Years pass by so quickly, my darling,
Each makes you more precious to me;
But long may we grow close together,
Oh, lily-white rose, cling to me.

Chorus

Now I am alone, my sweet darling,
I walk through the garden and weep,
But spring will return with your presence
Oh lily white rose, mine to keep

Chorus

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.