Waiting for your own bus

"The less time we have left in life to wait, the more time we spend having to wait."

Being as honest here in this journal as I can be, it's not been a good week. I understand the source of my discontent. It is, quite simply, too much waiting. Waiting for things to happen over which I have very little control. That ranges right across the spectrum: waiting for a buyer for the house, waiting for a chance to take a break from work, waiting for my desktop machine to reboot, waiting for blipfoto to respond to requests. The big issues somehow seed the tiniest little problems with impatience.

I guess it's symptomatic of a complicated life - and our lives inevitably get more complicated as we get older. I like to think I'm close to a cusp where life will start to get simpler. I'm waiting to get to that point but there is a pace at which change can happen which I can't do much to increase. The sense of powerlessness is enervating.

For now, I'm going to take some time for myself and avoid having to wait for anything for a few hours!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.