A greyness of accountants

The day started and ended with accountants. First up, a breakfast briefing on the digital revolution with the chief executive of the Guardian, who gave a fascinating glimpse into the future of what used to quaintly be called newspapers.

Then lunch with a friend of a friend, whose mother has just been diagnosed with Alzheimers. I passed on information about the services available for the elderly with dementia - not a subject I ever hoped to find myself an expert on.

Last up was a reception at the National Museum of Scotland, for accountants who qualified with KPMG. I know attendance wasn't mandatory, but just like school reunions, I was curious to see how ex-colleagues had turned out. And the answer is - badly, in the main. It seems old accountants never die, they just get even more boring. They are no doubt saying exactly the same thing about me.

Song

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.