nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Renold & Coventry Chain Company

Popped into the community building that we hold the youth group in, while it was open to the public as part of a local heritage day scheme. It was the administration building - and is now all that remains - of the Renold & Coventry Chain Company site.

The factory was covered by camouflage, but there were a number of air raids while I [Kathleen Warwick] worked there, and one day a German reconnaissance plane came over and flew so low we could see the pilot. Scary stuff.

Much more could have been made of the event - I still don't know how the building acquired its current name for example. Perhaps because I go in there every week I found it less interesting.

Anyway, as there weren't any real chains in evidence I found this old promotional video from Renold (good once you get past the first 2.20 mins of Shakespeare fluff).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.