Jennie2013

By Jennie2013

"water" and the place that serves it

It's inevitable when you are traveling abroad for things to get lost in translation- some instances you can laugh at more than others, but its always part of the experience. For instance, today a friend and I were eating at the famous elephant room at Raffles Hotel (yes, its actually famous thanks to Jackie O), and I asked for a glass of water. The waitress repeated what I said but it didn't sound correct. Instead of double checking though I decided to wait and see what they brought me. While waiting, we tried to think of what sounded like water that they could bring but couldn't think of anything. Turns out cosmopolitan sounds like water! So that's what I drank in lieu of water...could have been worse! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.