No one is looking at this

By Limey

Rowntree Black Magic chocs.... Or "Rowntree S

I got some repro vintage posters for my apartment last week at a market.

One was an old picture of Dun Laoghaire in British colonial times, a couple of old French posters (so I can look all cultured & sophisticated, dontcha know) and this old Irish-language advert for Rowntree's Black Magic chocolates.

I'm not sure when this ad was in use. I think it might be from the 40s, maybe early 1950s, because this old Gaelic font was discontinued around 1958.
Most people these days can't make out the old font. I certainly didn't learn it in school or college, but this is what my parents would have learned back in the Fifties.

What I can tell you, is the dot over some the letters, indicates a "h" in Modern Irish. For example, in the pic, you have"i mBaile Ath Cliat" for "in Dublin" , which is now written out as "i mBaile Átha Cliath". Perfectly obvious, isn't it? ;-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.