Gifts of Grace

By grace

Swithering

Swithering. I swithered between this shot in celebration of what might yet not be the last of the dahlias given the weather we have been having - forever it seems. And the B&W version. Definitely betta BIGGA in both colour and B&W. With Blip you can squeeze in both options with a bit of fancy footwork.

Not so in the referendum. I did something I've not done since before my father's death eight years ago. I went into the bookies, to find out the odds they were offering on either outcome. YES: 10/3 on; NO: 2/9.

They had to explain the meaning of these numbers to me quite a few times, my dad would be turning in his grave if he had one. Did I learn nothing from him?

Basically at the moment the bookies think it's close but a fair bit more likely that the NO vote will outweigh the YES vote. If you put a fiver on YES NO to win (and they do), you get £6.13 back (including your original fiver) and if you put that same fiver on NO YES you get £21.16 back if they win.

I do now understand the meaning of the phrase 'hedging your bets' - I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.