ncpinkerton

By ncpinkerton

Harmonious Blacksmith- Cousland Smiddy

I went to Cousland Village in Midlothian today. The village was hosting a historic walk featuring various key landmarks as part of the doors open day. This photo was taken at the Smiddy, which may be the oldest running smiddy in Scotland. The blacksmith did a short demonstration for us. I liked the sense of movement in this photo.

Behind the smiddy was an organic allotment. The village has organised some archaeological digs to reveal information about the history of the village. It was an interesting place and I met many friendly people who were proud of their village. I have been to many of the small villages of midlothian, but this was my first, and certainly not the last, visit to Cousland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.