Turbines

I went to see the Charlie Waite Landscape exhibition 'Silent Exchange' today. It's showing at one of the theatres in the National Theatre complex on the South Bank, so naturally I made a day of it... (Life's tough sometimes!)

However, the exhibition left me with mixed feelings. Individually, each image was beautiful, with an elegant simplicity which I would love to achieve in my own photography. The groupings had clearly been carefully thought out and interesting a number of square compositions. But the collection was so well organised (sequenced?) and balanced that the overall effect, for me, was rather bland. There was no focal point or 'stand out' image to latch on to. I feel rather guilty and presumptuous, daring to criticise an eminent professional (or his agents?) but all in all, I was left somewhat underwhelmed.

My blip was taken in the Turbine Hall at the Tate Modern - I liked the Lowry-esque figures. The other major contender was this. I don't what it is about London, but for me, it just has to be done in mono. I was sort of looking for more images for my occasional 'London Lines and Curves' set, but I didn't really achieve the stripped down, minimalist look I've managed elsewhere. I'm not complaining though...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.