Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Laying out the track

So I got started a few days ago with laying out the track. I had developed the track plan on my CAD system so it is fairly precise. I measured out and drew the track center lines on the styrofoam. The small piece of foam core in the middle is a switch template. I downloaded the plan of each type of switch, blew them up to actual size, and glued them onto several small pieces of foam core. That way when I lay out a switch I know the real one will fit and match the incoming tracks perfectly - we hope.

I also printed out full size footprint plans of all the buildings I have for the layout. I have been collecting kits for a long time as they are usually limited runs so you need to buy now. I have built several kits for the old railroad in our last house, including a SPAM plant named for my brother H. Husband of blipped Nanak. But I have many many more to build which is maybe one of my favorite things to do. Each family member will have an appropriate building. Not sure about the brothel. The plans allow me to test out the layout I drew to see how it looks and will operate. Did make some changes, particularly to the "city" which was printed in whole and taped together. That is the only color print. Anyway things are falling into place with only two areas to finish - the lumber mill and the little town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.