Reaching for the Sky

I wasn't sure what image to use today from walk around the city. I found this image interesting as the sculpture of the Chalice in Cathedral Square looks so odd coming out of the building reaching for the sky. Because I used my Long lens for this shot, it is making distant Port Hills appear closer then they are. And I like the wonderful bright colours.

As you can see the rain has gone now and we had a sunny day but that wind was still cold. I wasn't feeling 100% because this bug I have been having seems to have come back again and my throat is very sore and my ears are still sore.

For a up date on the rebuild of the Knox Church and the Knox Plaza build here are some photos I took today.

The Chalice is a permanent sculpture located in Christchurch's Cathedral Square to celebrating the new millennium and the 150th Anniversary of the founding of Christchurch and Canterbury by the Canterbury Association.

The Chalice has a primary hexagonal steel structure and a solid steel conical base. Native leaf patterns are cut from aluminium sheet, welded to custom-made triangular beam structures, and then bolted into position on the frame.

The sculptor was Neil Dawson and for more information on the Chalice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.