Today I felt like taking my trotters for a sturdy march through the marshes, so I hopped on the train heading for Southend, though I was undecided where to get off (as usual!). I made a very last second decision to get off at Benfleet and walk along by the marina, then along the path by the marshes to Leigh-on-Sea, as I'd never walked along there before. It looked very quiet along there and was slightly (only slightly)nervous about walking along there on my own. I thought I'd take the risk though, being the brave beast of a woman that I am (sometimes).

I really enjoyed the walk! I wandered over a bridge to Two Tree Island,.another place I'd never been to before. The island is a big nature reserve, with reed beds, lagoons, many birds and a sign pointing out that there were adders living there too. I managed to reach Leigh-0n-Sea without an adder bite, twisted ankle or attack from a marsh-wandering mad axeman, so rewarded myself with a dirty woman bag of greasy chips (they were actually delissshussh) and a drippy, huge 99 ice cream. It was really busy there, as there were bands playing outside the pubs there, for some kind of music festival. Another lovely day, by the water!

I hope to catch up with your journals later...sorry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.