With mountains like these

By Sollergirl

Ana

We stayed up very late on Friday, but had had such a good time I felt 16 again.

Oh dear..

I had some pretty horrendous nightmares (not that unusual for me unfortunately, they're usual pretty epic, but not always so graphic). Never mind, I thought, and we made it for a coffee before meeting Manolo and Ana near the Gothic cathedral. Agu and I had already had a look around and I was admiring the murals and the incredible stained glass. They are undergoing a lot of renovation, much of it being medieval.

Then Agu bounced up to say he had got tickets to have a guided tour of the stained glass high up on the platform. We waited in the cold and I started to feel a little wobbly. Not a height thing, just a bit tired. We climbed up the scaffolding and the guide started her talk, but I knew I couldn't concentrate, so I just started taking pictures (with Ana's camera, as I had forgotten to charge mine up, noooo!)

And then a wave of uncertain dizzyness hit me. I thought the last thing I was ever going to see was the stained glass of Leon cathedral and how irresponsible it was of me to pass out up a load of inaccesible aluminium ladders. So I summoned Agu and we tried to find a place for a wobbly woman to sit down, I perched on the tiles of the roof for a while, (and blippers, I took a few shots!) but didn't feel anything other than an insurance liability, so I made it down. We were locked in, and there were no seats, so I slumped on the stone floor outside and shivered until we were released 20 mins later.

I stopped shaking about... well 6 hours later. It was so bloody cold and I'd convinced myself I was going to die very gothically. Ana's flat and Valerian and a check on my blood pressure in the pharmacy put paid to rest the imminent heart attack theory that was irrationally going round my head, but that was more or less Saturday. We had booked a meal out in some caves (!) and I did perk up at the thought of some red meat. Very not me to feel not very hungry and I was so annoyed having worried everyone. Knocked for six, feeling a bit stupid.

This is Ana trying not to be blipped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.