Life in Scotland

This afternoon I drove up to Killin to see my old friends Dave and Gill Hunt, on the last day of Perthshire Open Studios.

Gill is an awarded winning photographer and here she is with her winning entry in the International Garden Photographers book.

She got it for the Wildlife in the Garden section.
Says Gill:
“I was photographing spring blossom in the garden when this blue-tit jumped into view.
“ I was just about to shoo it away then I thought ‘no I will take a photo of it instead.”


Dave and Gill quit London and life in television some years ago to follow their dream of a better quality of life that would allow them to pursue their ambition to be fine art photographers.


And I think that after Thursdays Referendum, many more people will begin to question their lifestyle and look with a certain amount of wonder, if not envy, at life north of the Border.
.

In the hour-long drive north I passed yes signs galore and only one solitary no.


Perhaps the mood in Scotland is best summed up by a young man who served me a cup of coffee in Kilhagog, a tiny hamlet in the Trossachs:
“Who would not vote for independence?”

Today’s Observer summed up the Referendum up with this article by Andrew Rawnsley:
“Whatever the result, Salmond will be the winner on Thursday

“…even among a lot of no voters, Scots have been energised and exhilarated.
The sight of Westminster politicians on their knees begging them not to go has sharpened their self-esteem…
Heads, Alex Salmond wins. Tails, he wins.
In whatever currency you are using.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.