Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

The Eildons

Here are two of the three Eildons - iconic hills just south of Melrose in the Scottish Borders, visible from many points in the surrounding countryside - they seem to crop up everywhere you look and move about, taking you by surprise.

When I took this photo I was in the course of climbing the third (north) Eildon with my friend J who has a view of the hills from her home. The north hill is 422 m (1,385 ft) high and is the site of a large Bronze Age hill fort - read more about it here. There is a huge Roman fort at the foot of the Eildons, named Trimontium, or "three hills". The Eildons look more impressive large.

As you can see, it was a cloudy and slightly misty day, a bit of a disappointment after the recent Indian summer we've been having - but at least it didn't rain, that's always the most important thing on a walk.

This walk was part of my training for my holiday in Spain, where I will be a week from now, provided nothing goes wrong this time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.