Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Welcome back!

When I returned from Normandy at the end of the week I could hardly believe the intensity of colour in the one bit of my garden I've taken in hand recently. The border had been a rose bed at one time, but now only one rose remains, so in the spring I had everything else cleared from it and a load of topsoil put down. (I think I've probably blipped about it before and will check when I'm done!). Before we left - just over a week earlier - I had snipped off all the flowers on the sweet pea plants (didn't want them wasting energy turning into peas) and given the bunch to the neighbour who looks after my keys). I didn't expect much growth to have happened - but look! And as for that rose ... (Josephine Bruce)

Now the sweet peas are the same height as I am; the flowers are abundant and the buds even more so; the dry, still weather has meant they are still upright; the scent is amazing. I'm delighted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.