intothehills

By intothehills

The climbers climber

It's a rest day for clients today - most always they wander off, ride the Hellbronner or go to the spa. However one 'oh so slightly' Alpha Male client wanted me to take him for a walk - "somewhere good". Well in the Val Ferret & the Val Veny that doesn't really narrow it down much - but as I'd also been looking forward to some R&R and a nice Italian coffee  I soon decided on a fast climb up to the Refugio Bonatti* - a truly lovely refuge sat on an open hill staring at the stunning southern face of the Massif, named to honour my favourite climber - in fact quite  possibly my favourite (man made) place on the tour & home to some of it's best coffee - we then traversed the hill along the 2000m contour to the Bertone (yes more coffee) before the very, very steep descent into Courmayeur.
As the client had wanted some challenge we did (most of) it at my pace...

*No few words on a Blip could ever do Bonatti justice, a man with a true heart who sought out and climbed the greatest lines in the mountains - for the simple pleasure of doing so, many many years ahead of his time.

wiki link

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.