champignons

By champignons

And now for something completely different...

Today, after the nut came home from nursery encrusted in boogies and with a bump to the noggin, we went on our traditional half term foray to Ikea. Now, if there is anything to make me realise staying in my house and never, ever, coming out is not all that bad, it is a visit to Ikealand. Of course, as is usually the case with places with bright lights that are chock full of trolls and their screaming offspring, Mr Nut found it to be an excellent place.

So, the ebola rug, having spent the year gather life endangering encrustations, has been rolled up for safe disposal under the sea or wherever they sweep rugs under (I'm imagining a truly giant rug with many little ones under it) and a replacement has been bought. I was quite pleased a decision was so easily made, as I remember my mother buying most things for the living room in beige... not because she liked it.. so our rug is not beige. 'I like this one' he says. 'Me too' I say. Mr Nut crawls around on the display model. The choice is made.

How could I not be happy today? Look at the stripes. It cost a bit more than I anticipated, but a large custom job means all I really need to justify the expense is someone to say how hard wearing wool is and it will last forever and remain invulnerable to any karmic repayment where friends and red wine are concerned.

Plus, Jim's new chest of drawers were £70 off, and they accepted the £10 off voucher, and my teppas drawers were £3 not £12 with a saving of £34 which is a saving of 114 pounds, so I think I can say the rug was free and I'm still £15 up.

I have taken too many photos in the dark this week. So this makes up for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.