Attack of the Giant Monster Robot Chicken

I was up early today as I wanted to beat the traffic and get into the office by 7:45..

Alas as I ventured out onto the landing my nose was assailed by the unmistakable pong of a dog who could not wait. I went downstairs and was very grateful we don't have carpet.

Special blue gloves on and then the cleanup took 20 minutes and involved our entire collection of cleaning, steaming, mopping and freshening tools. Molly looked on with a slightly guilty face.

This done finished getting ready and headed out into the traffic, which was moving at a fair pace until it started to rain. For some reason there was localised monsoon on the 1307, it did not hit Linton but the roads were like rivers 5 miles nearer Cambridge. This means that people forget how to drive, my commute took ages.

In to the office and some cretin had broken the alarms again, I know who it is, they are cretins and it will be sorted but we have to sort it as the cretins seem incapable of having a conversation with an engineer whilst reading 4 digits from a display.

All of which would have been fine if the coffee machine had been working. We have few luxuries in the office, a football table, some fresh air and the odd lamp. Good coffee is however essential and so we have invested heavily in bean to cup technology, which was broken this morning. This would have been a disaster if we did not have a spare machine (forward planning ;)).
It was a disaster the spare machine has been sitting in it's box being broken for the last year!!!!
No coffee, both machines broken. I tried chewing coffee beans but they just don't have the same effect as a double espresso.

Luckily I won a new client this afternoon, a site that Al and I have wanted to build for ages, only a small one but really looking forward to it.

Home and emergency blip plan A) was used. This is a plastic singing Chicken that Sarah and Darren very kindly, and with a lot of thought and consideration, bought me for my birthday. It really is a wonder. It walks along, blue lights flashing, wings flapping (sort of) whilst is sings a jolly song with a rather heavy Chinese accent. Then it stops, makes a painful noise, a hatch in it's bottom opens and an egg rolls out. It is just like our chickens.
Anyway I like it;)

large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.