ztuzzer

By ztuzzer

Stuff.

I hate it. I have too much of it. I have all of this in a lock-up whilst I'm transitioning into graduate life, but I don't even know what 'all-of this' is! If I don't know what I have, how can I miss it? And if I don't miss it, how can I need it?

But the thing is, I do need it. Perhaps not for the life I lead at the moment - or, rather, in the traveling period I was in when I took this photo. Travelling place to place is something I love, and something that requires very little. In fact, the less you have the freer you are! But it's not sustainable. At least, not right now. Which means, when the money dries up and I need to settle and start work, the clothes rack, the ironing board, the television and other mundane items become a lot more necessary. And yes, television is mundane.

But even these practical items are not enough. Settling requires sentiment. A house is not a home until it's been lived in, which involves more than a microwave and a bed. Personalised space is fundamental for a healthy work lifestyle. You - or at least I - need reminders of why life's worth working through the 9-to-5. I've travelled to many places and shared many moments with many friends, but without sentimental items to revive these moments past, it will all get lost in the haze of my memory. So my space, wherever I chose to reside, becomes my living museum.

More so than the cutlery, bedding and copious artistic materials I have stored, I stockpile memories. From photographs - lots and lots of photographs - to beer coasters; from models to posters; from postcards to paintings; my space may look like a bric-a-brac shop of random crap but it all means something to me for each item has its own story. Don't get me wrong, I'm far from a hoarder - I only keep stuff if it real does have a sentiment to it - but I am also no where near minimalist; although that would suit my preferred lifestyle perfectly.

Until I can afford to fund my own museum, stuff will remain the biggest paradox in my life; I want to be rid of it to make more memories, but I need stuff to remember the moments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.