LifeOfNay

By LifeOfNay

Hello Ireland!

I accidentally stole an Irish mans pillow on the ferry, (looked like they were for anyone but apparently you have to pay for them! - what a joke) Nathan over heard them saying
“I can’t wake her she’s disabled” & “Let’s just walk by & hope she wakes up” Nathan eventually came over & woke me up to steal it from me. It was so cold on the boat, three jumpers & I was still shivering & now with a shoe for a pillow. Poor Nathan looked exhausted & couldn’t sleep at all.
We arrived around 6am with about 2 hours sleep between us in the last 24 hours we felt like shit. It was only an 11 minute drive to the hostel though!
Unfortunately, Nathan became impatient & stopped listening to me, he started driving around on his own accord, he must of known where he was going because an hour & a half later we found the hostel...
Which was closed...
& there was no parking...
& no toilets...
& our phone JUST died...
We checked the booking & we couldn’t check in til 2pm... 6 & 1/2 hours from now.
I could have cried. We drove around trying to find parking but they all said 3 euros for an hour, we needed to park the car for two days so that wasn’t an option. We found a small area to park for a bit but it was to sketchy to leave the car there. We were both almost in a trance now as we watched someone go through a car wash in front of us for ages.
After a further hour & 1/2 of driving around the same streets over & over again we finally found a parking lot that cost 40 Euros for 5 visits, so we could leave the car over night & not get charged a ridiculous amount.
It was such a mission to find a toilet that we ended up walking past the closed barriers & going into some in a shopping centre, I think the only reason we didn’t get kicked out was because of the crutches, I walked past another barrier & made a run for the toilet before my bladder exploded. I over heard a man say in a thick Irish accent,
“I can open the disabled toilets for you, just need the key”
“She’s already gone” Nathan replied. Fortunately, they were incredibly nice to me, unfortunately they wouldn’t let Nathan go until the centre opened as they were doing maintenance on the toilets. So we had to waddle/hobble to Maccas before Nathan exploded.

After getting our parking pass we head back to the car & passed out for the next four hours, I hadn’t been able to sleep very well in a car before but we were so overtired we both passed out immediately.
We woke up, feeling like crap, but it was almost 2pm so we forced ourselves to get up & head to the hostel. We didn’t know where it was from here & we had to walk with all our bags so we were super cranky at this point.

It wasn’t until we got across the bridge & we realized we were a lot closer to the hostel than originally thought that I could relax a bit. The last 20 hours were horrible.
We got to the hostel with a massive sign of relief & I could finally get a bit excited about the fact that we were in Ireland! We had made it. I kept saying to myself, this will be funny one day, but not today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.