DarkPeakBirder

By DarkPeakBirder

A Hummingbird in the Peak District?

While making tea this evening I glanced out of the kitchen window into the garden and spotted something hovering on the Verbena plants. Not being sure what it was I went out for a closer look and saw this Hummingbird Hawkmoth feeding on the plant. Rushed to get my camera and tell my neighbour to come for a look who said they had seen lots on holiday in Minorca.

I was thrilled to see it and even more pleased to get this photo, as the camera was set wrong and it was very active.

I grew these plants myself a few years ago so think I'll be sowing some more.

I also didn't burn the chips that were frying while this was going on!

This is only my second Blipfoto so I'm not sure how I'm going to keep this up;

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.