Curiouser & curiouser...

By turningbull

Referendum Eve

My mother (English), my father (Scottish), my brother and I. A British family.

I think this photo was taken during a Tory Government (John Major), so on one hand some things haven't changed since then. On the other hand, though, a lot has changed; I am both working and studying for a PhD, I am a homeowner, and I am no longer so tiny. For me personally, things are going well, but I am aware that many people in the U.K. are not so fortunate and they deserve change for the better.

Whatever the outcome tomorrow, I feel that change is going to be made. I have spoken to people from various aspects of my life and from both sides of the vote, and no one has denied that things will be different either way.

I have never voted Conservative. Nor have I voted for the Scottish National Party. So either way I am not represented currently. I am certainly not alone in this.
One way to improve my representation within government would be by moving to a country where my political leanings are in the majority. However, this does nothing to solve the root cause of my unrest - what if this country sways towards a different political outlook? Nor does it help any of the other people facing the same problem. In my opinion, a more humane and socially beneficial responsible solution would be to work together to fix the problem at its root. I know that distrust, frustration and disgust at the current Westminster government are more prevalent than just in Scotland. Working with these other regions, change at the heart of the system of government can be achieved, for a better United Kingdom.

For these reasons, among others, I am going to vote to keep Britain together tomorrow, and keep Britain Great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.