Today

By catbells

The Golden Temple

The Golden Temple is the most significant place of worship for Sikhs. Built in 1574 in the Punjabi city of Amritsar, it remains the most visited place by Sikhs (orthodox and modern) from all over the world.

The temple is surrounded by a large Sarovar (manmade lake), known as the AmritSar (Lake of Holy Water or Immortal Nectar). There are entrances to the temple on all four sides, signifying the importance of acceptance and openness of all regardless of colour, creed or faith.

On my way to Delhi, I was fortunate enough to visit it today. I am surprised at the calmness depicted by the blip...given how crowded the temple was today...just fortunate I guess. I was just sitting by the lake as this Slkh holy man (Nihang) walked by....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.