Edgey

By Edgey

Scottish Referendum Hawick

Yes I have done something really weird!!! As a proud Southern Englishman today I voted in the Scottish referendum ... not only has that fact just occurred to me but tomorrow I may be an immigrant!! OMG!!!!

I love Scotland, I love its people, I love the Scottish sense of identity (something the English have lost along the way), I love the accents (after two years of learning what the f*** Rab C Nesbitt was talking about), I love the history, and more importantly I love just what a proud nation Scotlands people are.

The Scots have a sense of humour which is second to none... they have scenery unrivaled anywhere else on these islands, a nation of decent people, who work hard and party like nowhere else in the UK. A nation of big hearted generous people, a nation of great entrepreneurs throughout history, a nation of great regiments, of shipbuilding and of architecture.

After 24 years of living amongst the Scots I cant fault them one eyeota ... OK well Im not a bagpipe lover still, but I do love haggis. I refuse point blank to try a deep fried Mars bars but I have been known to wear a skirt (on the very odd occasion - eg challenged to present my old radio show dressed as a woman with a web cam in the studio). The worst thing to come out of Scotland EVER? Not a hard question it has to be Wet, Wet, Wet !!

The referendum has been good fun, passionate, mostly highs and good humour. When I went along to vote the polling station was empty. Empty! yes thats right Empty! Where were the good people of Hawick?? I was hoping to get a really good picture of people debating, flags flying etc but no it wasn't to be! I got one Yes campaigner and one No campaigner standing outside having banter between themselves. When I asked to take a picture the lady dragged her board so it covered up the Yes board hahahha ... In the interests of fair play (something instilled in me as an Englishman), I did ask her to put it back which, she did with such a smile and gritted teeth I thought her polyfiller had failed .

So ... I now await my fate to find out if I'm to be an immigrant or not !!

''ON YAE GO!!'' or as some would say ''GET IT UP YAE!''

Todays Track Something I know Roz will like - and its not rock !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.