creative lenna

By creativelenna

Jupiter Artland with Frieda

The day started with a lovely walk under the railway bridge near Frieda's home, with her two dogs. I had seen this beautiful stone bridge many times previously through Frieda's photos. It was wonderful to actually walk under it and photograph it! Beautiful views abound in the fields behind her home and I so enjoyed the walk. Hopefully I will get more photos up later, right now we have a shortage on uploading since her broadband is out yet again. Poor Frieda!! Being so far out in the country can cause problems in this area -phone, computer . . . but at least the satellite is working!

The photos in my collage above are from our visit to Jupiter Artland in Wilkieston outside of Edinburgh. What an amazing place!! I so enjoyed my visit there. It was a long drive for us to get there as a lane was out locally and we drove another way, but certainly worth it. So much to take in as I sat as a passenger, including the narrow roads!  But back to Jupiter Artland, please visit the link above to learn more. I will describe it as an outdoor art gallery with installations by some very well known artists like Andy Goldsworthy (one of my favorites!) and Charles Jencks. He is the one who designed the Life Mounds you see above, 2nd row in from the left. Huge amazing sculpted mounds of earth and grass we could walk on! 

On the far right is Andy Goldsworthy's Stone Coppice, where unused boulders from the Stone House were placed in coppiced trees with limps to hold them. A beautiful path meandered through the forest allowing you to discover all of the bolders. He is a favorite artist of mine so it was very special. I have watched his "rivers and tides" video many times!

The spider web looking thing above the "selfie" of me & Frieda is called Over Here and was knitted with circular needles. I thought it was so beautiful strung between tree limbs. It had a hole in the middle of it which my photo does not show. Frieda & I enjoyed looking through it to the farmer's field, rich & brown with a flock of white birds.

The wall on the very left was surrounding the private residence that house the family who own the estate and created and commissioned the artists for Jupiter Artland. I wish I had more time to write about this amazing experience of walking through the woods and discovering all these very interesting pieces, but this will have to do! Please check Frieda's blip to see more and I know she added more photos to her blog and linked them.

I am also here during a very historical time, as Frieda voted this morning on our way to Jupiter Artland. I don't think we will find out the results until tomorrow, but it is possible I could be leaving a different country when I go! All is well and we will know tomorrow what has been decided.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.