A year of Glasgow

By maria159

Over at last

Well that's me voted after what felt like the longest campaign in history. I've known what I was voting for about 2 years so it's a relief to know that finally its nearly over. Of course I hope the result is what I want but it's going to be close so there are guaranteed to be a lot of unhappy people. Whatever happens, I hope we can all live together without repercussions afterwards.

I feel that Glasgow is on edge today, like a high stakes old firm game but with more people involved. A lot of people I know feel uncomfortable with all the flag waving and badge flaunting. Far from being a sign of engagement, I think that has stifled debate, as people choose to keep their thoughts to themselves.

I hope things stay peaceful tonight and tomorrow and beyond and I look forward to people getting back to actually doing things to make Scotland better after 2 years spent talking and shouting about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.