Significant People

David Kendall was a really important person in my life. He taught me the French Horn (which I still enjoy playing) as a teenager whilst I was at school/college.

He introduced me to the Wind Band in Croydon via which I made some of my oldest and closest friends. Here is how I remember him.

Like all teenagers I was eager to move on with my life and didn't give a thought to leaving Croydon and friends I made there when the time came. But with age comes more reflection and I've tried several times to find out where David was, as I wanted him to know how grateful I was for the influence he had...

Just recently, thanks to a planned re-union we have tracked him down. Now living in France, he was in London this week so I took the opportunity to go for lunch with him and wife Bridgett!

It was lovely lovely lovely. This is teacher and pupil 32 years on from when we last saw each other....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.