Edinburgh Chap's Photos

By GilesGuthrie

Scotland Decides

Today, on 18th September 2014, the population of Scotland is deciding whether to separate from the United Kingdom.

Scots residents have engaged with the process and the debate, and thus the future of Scotland is as unclear as the atmosphere on polling day.

Scotland is a nation of incredible variety. From history through to modernity, via unrelenting change. This vote too will change things, whatever the outcome.

My own preference would be for Scotland to remain in the UK. I've always seen myself as British, and I'd like Britain to remain. The Scottish populace has sent a very strong message to the UK government, and very probably delivered its own hope for change as a mandate to the rest of the UK.

Whatever the result though, I hope that the Yes and No camps can reunite as Scots to the betterment of whatever country is selected in this incredible poll.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.