M9

By M9

MEET CHEEKS!

'Cheeks', the chipmunk, already has two whole peanuts (still in the shell) in his cheeks – one on each side. He actually put in four – two on each side! You can see how fast his little ‘hands’ are working to stash the peanuts. From the back, he looks like his head has wings! (Another shot with his super-stuffed cheeks is on Flickr.)

I never dreamed I could capture this major stuffing in the works, but after seeing Debbi Bifulco captured this same action on 9/16, I decided on a plan. I took the screen off the kitchen window, cranked it open just the right amount, then tossed the peanuts onto the deck when I saw the chippie nearby. I only waited a couple minutes before he came to load up. I was all set with my camera, and I GOT IT!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.