Danger - invaders

This is not an orchid. It's called the Himalayan Balsam.

It may be beautiful but it's a lethal invader and is proving very costly to keep under control.

There's a shock-horror story in today's "Independent"
Call the Marines - it's an alien invader

I had taken my photo before I googled to include a link and found this article.

I was first made aware of the plant and its dangers when I went on a walk with my brother through Dimmingsdale, (North Staffs). He told me about it and I soon afterwards read that Staffordshire had been taking steps to eradicate it - on a small reserve near Muckley Corner (South Staffs).

But it's on the march again. One of the dog walkers was talking about how she was pulling up "the blossom plant" which is taking over part of the woodland at Pipe Hall Farm.

This photo was taken on the road down to Wall, from the Walsall Road into Lichfield. I noticed a couple of bushes some weeks ago - and it's now VERY prolific.

It's so pretty. Apparently it was introduced into this country because of its attractive nature. Lethally deceptive.

About the Referendum. My best wishes go to Scotland and I hope that the divisions will soon heal. I'm pleased you're not leaving the Union. Thank you for highlighting to the Government that England needs powers.

Only English MPs to vote on English matters...... sounds like a step towards independence.

Until you do the Maths. Only ONE Conservative MP will be cut out of the discussions. It could change the balance of power....

Now - would I suggest that David Cameron has a lot in common with the Himalayan Balsam ?........................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.