Smoke without fire

Because of the time difference, I woke up in Muscat as the results were beginning to come in. Flaky technology ensured it was a very frustrating experience but the direction of the result soon became clear.

So that's that. Time to deal with the disappointment (Scots are used to that) or restrain the joy (something which comes natural to us).

I listen to the BBC world service in the car and the referendum in Scotland has been prominent. And I have to admit a lump creeps into my throat when I listen to how we were managing the process. Another Scots lesson to the world of how to deal with constitutional change.

Scotland is in a good place. We should now be able to manage the next stage of how we wish to be governed.

Above all else, that is the lesson of an 84% turnout. Government is something we create to manage the way we live together. There is no natural law that says we have to do it any particular way. Yesterday, people said we want to do it differently. They said that without violence, with thoughtfulness and, in my view, fairly emphatically.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.