Simply Me

By Suze981

Better together

In the early hours of this morning, Scotland voted to stay part of the United Kingdom. 55.30% of us voted No and 44.70% voted Yes.

A whopping 3,623,344 people voted, with a 84.59% turnout rate. As I said yesterday, that’s a massive win for democracy. I’m very proud to be part of a Nation where so many turned out to vote for what they believed in.

I’m also very happy about the result. You know from my recent blips that I was firmly in the No camp. I will admit though that I was a little concerned for a while, and so got up at 5.45am this morning to watch the last local authority areas coming in. At 6.08am, No was officially declared the winner.

Of course though, almost 45% of people are disappointed with the result. I’ve seen a lot of negative and nasty comments on social media today. I hope they don’t actually mean it and it's just an immediate reaction. It's not helpful.

We all want what’s best for the country – we might have disagreed with how to achieve that, but as I said yesterday, now is the time to come together to make Scotland and the UK great. By early 2015, we’ll have a plan in place for more devolved powers and we all need to unite to successfully deliver these changes.

Anyway, I was out for dinner tonight with Debs and Nanisa. I am an English girl living in Scotland, Debs is a Scottish girl living in Brussels and Nanisa is a half Guyanese and half Scottish girl living in Scotland. I’m embracing the fact that we’re all together on this historic day.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.