Sam's staircase

This is our first free weekend in Edinburgh since my return from Sweden in June - hurrah!

This morning we visited our niece's boyfriend Sam in his student accommodation. My blip is of the staircase up to his self-catering flat. It's quite interesting to consider how provision for students has changed in a generation. For example, Sam has his own room with an en suite bathroom. In contrast many of us shared bedrooms in hall, and nobody had their own bathing facilities. It's also worth noting that there is more computing power in Sam's bedroom than there was on the entire campus of Birmingham University in 1982!

This afternoon I am going to make fruit cakes for Daddy hazelh and Mr hazelh for their birthdays next month.

Meanwhile, and as I have been typing this, over on Facebook plans are afoot to meet with friends for drinks and supper this evening. Suddenly our "free weekend in Edinburgh" becomes a little busier than anticipated - not that I am complaining, of course. My blipfriends know how much I enjoy a party ;-)

Exercise today: none - my day off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.