Kaliningrad

Just too much happened today to choose a single photo!
When I arrived last night my luggage didn't so our contingency plan was to borrow Aliona's shoes (pictured with Oleg) and get my hair, nails and make up done in the spa which I did, see me with 2 of my 4 attendants bottom right. As my make up was being done the news came that my luggage had arrived on the 12.30 am from Moscow, yay!!!!

I changed backstage much to the delight of the cleaners, top left is Raisa, such a lovely lady, age 70, part time cleaner and also a gym teacher to kids at a local school, she demonstrated the splits for me, I was so impressed!! She has a son of 45 and a grand daughter, such a warm person.

I went on stage at 2 am and sand for half an hour, the show went really well and Oleg (pictured with his wife Aliona) said I was one of the best international artists they'd had this year which was nice! We had a drink and put the world to rights and I got to sleep about 5/6 (2 hours ahead of uk here).

I woke up about 11 and Oleg came to get me, we walked through the park, over the bridge covered with lovelocks, past the beautiful old German building which houses a museum and holds concerts, then we went for lunch and Aliona joined us, she works in marketing for a company that assembles cars, bikes scooters etc and in her spare time she volunteers for a cat rescue charity and was really happy today because she had just dropped off the third of three kitten sisters to a good home.

After lunch we strolled in the lovely sunshine to the Russian Orthodox Church where I took the photo of the old ladies walking up the steps and also the lady inside the church.

Then I told them that I like markets so they took me there! I saw fruits and veg I've never seen! Very pale green beans, large pink tomatoes from Azerbaijan, very pale peppers and almost white apples, some fruits like a cherry but more rose hip shaped, so cool. I've included a picture of a fishmonger and also a very nice lady beekeeper who gave us honey to taste on squares of paper, it was heavenly so Oleg kindly bought me some.

Oleg and Aliona have been so kind, helpful and generous towards me, it's been really nice. My flight is at 6.30 am so about to eat and will then get my head down!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.