Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Any "Normal' Saturday

Well maybe not. I wan in Lichfield at lunchtime and was a little thrown by the throngs of people around. THe normal market was on in the square but at the one end a small marquee had been set up and chairs arranged, theatre style, in front of it.

I popped into the bank for my meeting and asked what was going on. Apparently it was a celebration of Samuel Johnson's birthday. He had a far reaching impact on the english we now speak when he published his dictionary of the english language in 1755.

When I came out, the 'celebrations' were in full swing before the local dignatories. I just caught this image of a couple of characters dressed in 18th century garb. I'm not sure what the original Samuel Johnson would have thought had he come across the belly dancers entertaining people in the background!

ps so glad I didn't publish yet another trees in mist shot today (though I did have one lined up ready!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.