Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Retreat at St. Joseph's Abbey

Dear Diary,

On a weekend retreat at the abbey. Such an amazing location! 2,500 acres of rolling farm land. I had to go "off campus" to post this today as there is no internet access at the monastery and I didn't want to miss a day of my journal!

The Trappist monks here are quite well known for their jams and jellies, which I've used for years. This year they began brewing the only authentic Trappist ale in America...very good! I visited Gethsemani Abbey, Thomas Merton's monastery, in Kentucky last year. That was an amazing experience.

The monks sing the hours and it is so restful but I have to admit, I didn't get up for the 3:30 Vigil! I am not doing a lot of photography...mainly reading and writing and enjoying the sublime silence. Still, I've received some lovely images and I will share one tomorrow.

Have to run...Vespers!

"Come away to a quiet place and rest awhile."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.