If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Solace Day 1.

We got a good early start on our trip down to Great Haywood to pick up the narrow boat. Traffic was running well so we were down by 1:00 however the previous share owners had asked to be late on the valet list so we couldn't board until 2:00.

After eating our lunch at the picnic tables I wandered round the marina looking for blips. The day was flat calm and as you might expect the ducks are used to people so I got a few good shots.

We left soon after 2:00 heading down the Trent and Mersey Canal towards Fradley. The highlight for me was the Armitage "tunnel" (yes that Armitage as in Armitage Shanks). The tunnel was a tunnel which has had the top removed and part replaced by a modern main road bridge. This section is single width so you need to send a spotter ahead to check nobody is coming. Along the tow path there are white railings and a Kingfisher perched on them and proceeded to move along in front of me allowing me to get within 10 feet. Guess who wasn't carrying a camera!

I told Clickychick about it on the walkie talkie and she managed to get a shot but it didn't let her get as close as I did.

Oh just in case you can't recognise it its a Mallard moulting out of eclipse plumage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.