misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

At the Oxford farmers' market

This Saturday morning I went to the village square looking for a different blip -- different from cats or flowers I have lately blipped, I mean.
I found quite a few choices on this damp & cool 17ºC morning. The most interesting, for me, was a man from a local (dodgey) village demonstrating his hops blooms. He grows and collects them for making his own beer.
The man on the right side was most interested in the process. Could be he will try growing his beer.
Apparently, our climate is ideal for growing hops... better than for wine which is grown elsewhere in New York state. I wonder if the word will get out? There is a lot of pasture land around here just lying fallow. It is likely that the farmers collect money from the Federal government for not growing anything... a common practice.
The young boy on the left reading a book was most interesting to me. He told me that felt cold and bored. I mentioned that to the man. The boy did not claim him as his father but only said he was with him. So, the man asked him if he was cold. The boy nodded but did not want the man to zip up his thin jacket. He was then told to keep on reading his book.
No joy there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.