briocarioca

By briocarioca

Made it!

I am so happy this evening, or elated might be a better word. Against all the dictates of common sense, my own doubts and HH's quietly but firmly expressed reservations, I went up the Pedra da Gávea, a square topped mountain by the coast in Rio. I may not be able to walk tomorrow (or ever again), but I did it, and for the third time.

It was great fun up at the top, and again on the way down. The guide had rashly divulged my age to one of the young groups that passed us, and when we actually made it to the top, it was to discover I was famous - "famosissima" according to one young man who asked if I was by any chance the Fiona he'd been hearing about. So all sorts of people asked to take photos with me and I think I'll be plastered all over Facebook by tomorrow. Unfortunately, the photos other people took of the groups with my camera are all rubbish, so I'm posting this "September Selfie" instead, for the September Selfie challenge.

Now have to go and peel off the layers of dirt and dust, do something about my nails, and get ready for a party tonight - oof!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.